文章, 经销商新闻, 主页上的特色, 新闻和文章

压缩空气系统关键绩效指标的测量原则

压缩空气系统的关键绩效指标有助于跟踪和提高系统的性能。

作者:VPInstruments公司首席执行官Pascal van Putten。

众所周知,空气压缩机所吸收的电能中大约有15%被转化为压缩空气。其他85%则以热量的形式流失。尽管效率很低,但压缩空气在许多行业中仍然是一个非常受欢迎的实用工具。压缩空气系统用户面临的挑战是如何获得尽可能好的效率,并尽可能地减少相关的成本(能源、维护)。因此,监测一套正确的关键绩效指标如今是任何能源经理或工厂所有者的必备条件。在这篇文章中,我们澄清了如何监测主要的KPI,我们将仔细研究几个关键的KPI:效率、压力损失和泄漏。

关键绩效指标(KPI)是可以有针对性地衡量和分析组织、机器和/或流程的绩效的变量或措施。例如,关键绩效指标可以是每个时间单位的某个生产数量,也可以是公司在某一特定产品上的利润数额。

KPI仪表盘就像飞机驾驶员的简化驾驶舱。它能及时提供正确的信息,你在做决定时可以依靠这些信息。例如:如果整体系统效率不高,你可以仔细研究一下主控制器的设置。如果消耗量明显高于正常值,或者你看到一个压力事件,你需要看看你的生产线或与工厂的操作员交谈。如果露点不正常,请修复/维修干燥器或检查其尺寸是否合适。对于每一个问题,都有许多解决方案,关键绩效指标会很快告诉你实施的解决方案是否正确。甚至更多,KPIs可以用来计算未来投资的ROI。通过这种方式,它们将有助于预测你未来与压缩空气有关的能源成本。

对于压缩空气系统,一些重要的关键绩效指标是。

  • 效率
  • 露点
  • 渗漏率
  • 压力损失
  • 每个产品/零件的生产成本

比功率(效率)、泄漏率和压力损失是任何压缩空气系统的一个良好起点,因此本文将进一步放大这三个关键绩效指标。是什么影响了它们,你如何测量它们,以及如何解释它们。

 

KPI。具体的压缩机功率/效率

空气压缩机的比功率是压缩机输出量(产生的压缩空气量)与压缩机的耗电量之间的比率。因此,KPI的计算方法是输入功率除以输出流量,以kW/100 cfm或kW/m3/min表示。

在以下情况下,特定的权力是很重要的。

  • 资产管理:当效率开始偏离初始情况时,这可以被视为一个早期预警信号(例如,需要更换离心机的过滤器或热交换器的内部故障)。
  • 栅栏上的空气。在这些合同中,效率是交易的一个重要部分。压缩机需要为Y量的电力提供预先确定的X量空气。
  • 遵守规定。为了实现环境和二氧化碳减排目标,永久性监测在全世界变得越来越重要。在这种情况下,政府在立法方面也发挥着至关重要的作用,如加州的Title 24和欧洲的能源效率指令。
  • 验收测试:在实验室测试压缩机时(ISO1217)。
  • 控制系统优化。由主控制器控制的一组特定压缩机的效率,应符合行业基准的平均水平。

 

压缩机站总效率与单个机器相比

当仪表的预算有限时,您可以使用一个流量计来监测所有的压缩机。这涉及到测量每台压缩机的功耗和测量主管道上的流量,即在干燥器和缓冲罐之后。将流量计放在主干线上的好处是,工厂的实际压缩空气消耗量也得到了监测。这些信息可以用来确定泄漏情况,并利用直方图功能创建一个空气需求的 "指纹"。

在这种情况下,重要的是计算足够时间内的平均消耗量,并将其除以平均功耗,因为加载/卸载会导致KPI的波动。现代能源管理平台可以进一步细化,将 "加载 "功耗、"卸载 "功耗分割开来,并以适当方式除以流量。我们建议将效率绘制成空气需求的函数,以了解你的系统是否在最佳状态下运行。

为了获得优化压缩机控制所需的更细化的洞察力,应该对每台压缩机的流量进行测量。由于压缩机排放管道的条件恶劣,要特别注意流量计的选择和安装。

根据目标,人们可以监测整个空气压缩机房的效率,包括空气处理设备,或每个单独的压缩机的效率。

总的测量不确定度。误差的传播。无聊的主题?

总的测量不确定度。误差的传播。对于我们中的许多人来说,这些是我们留给数学家的课题。然而,在查看测量数据时,它们是极其重要的。特别是当涉及到空气压缩机的大型投资决策时,这个话题不应该被低估,在比较效率数字时必须非常小心。

因此,在监测效率时,重要的是确定哪种精度水平是可以接受的。所需的精度水平取决于应用和装置的大小。下面的示意图显示了所有涉及到的参数之间的(简化)关系图,只是为了了解体积式(即活塞式、螺杆式、涡旋式)压缩机效率测量的复杂性。在ISO1217指令中,人们可以阅读更多关于这个主题的内容,并找到其他指令,告诉你如何解释结果、置信区间、必须使用哪种类型的流量计等等。

任何测量的总测量不确定度被定义为被测量量的统计变化。关于这个问题的进一步阅读,我们可以参考 "GUM"(测量数据的评估--测量不确定度表达指南,2008)。

图1.显示如何测量容积式压缩机的效率的关系流程图。该图显示了涉及的所有参数以及它们如何影响测量的效率。

系统性错误和它们的传播方式

每个被测量的信号都有自己的不确定度。现在,系统误差对测量效率的影响是什么?让我们看一个简单的例子。我们想检查一台44千瓦机器的效率,满负荷运行。我们使用一个功率计(±1%的读数),和一个流量计(±5%的读数)。效率的最大误差是多少?

最大阅读量

名义读数

最小读数

单位
流程

262.5

250

237.5

SCFM
权力

43.6

44

44.4

千瓦
效率

16.6

17.6

18.7

千瓦/100SCFM
误差

-6%

6%

如表所示,如果把系统误差做到极致,观察到的效率可能是16.6、17.6或18.7 kW/100 SCFM。这就是+/-6%。现在假设压缩机制造商测试了250 CFM的压缩机,效率的允许偏差也是6%(见CAGI表)。最坏的情况是,你可能购买了一台在输出流量上有-6%偏差的压缩机。当用插入式探头(+/-5%)测量时,你应该注意不要跳出结论,认为压缩机是错的,或者流量计是对的,反之亦然。

错误的效率数字对感知的年度成本有什么影响?在这个例子中,如果成本为0.06美元/千瓦时,年运行时间为8760小时,则该压缩机的 "资金容忍度 "为每年+/-1400美元。这可能对你的决策有影响。任何基于低于+/- 1400美元的节能的(主要)决定都可能是基于系统误差,因此可能是一个 "错误的 "决定。如果这是一架飞机的高度计,而你是驾驶这架飞机的飞行员......当高度计的精确度为+/-140英尺时,你会怎么做?你可能想保持在最低280英尺(2倍的误差)。这也适用于为这台压缩机做决定;如果由于效率低下而导致的预计成本将超过2800美元/年,那么就应该做点什么了。

继续阅读关于其他3个关键绩效指标的文章。 原文 关于压缩空气的最佳做法。

为您和您的团队免费提供关于永久监控的好处的介绍。

网络研讨会回放

对你的压缩空气和其他公共设施的长期监测是最大限度地节约能源的关键。正如上面的例子所示,它有很多好处,包括基于数据的投资决策、报警、提高意识,在某些情况下甚至会增加产量。我们的团队专家为您和您的团队提供免费的在线介绍,介绍永久监测的好处。有兴趣吗?今天就预约吧!

Articles, Distributor News, Featured on homepage, News & articles

Measurement Principles for Compressed Air System KPIs

Compressed air system KPIs help to track and improve the performance of your system. 

By Pascal van Putten, CEO, VPInstruments.

It is a known fact that roughly 15% of the electrical energy absorbed by air compressors is converted into compressed air. The other 85% is lost as heat. Despite this low efficiency, compressed air is still a very popular utility in many industries. Compressed air system users are faced with challenges to get the best possible efficiency and to reduce the associated costs (energy, maintenance) as much as possible. Therefore, monitoring the right set of KPIs is nowadays a must-have for any energy manager or plant owner. In this article we clarify how the main KPIs can be monitored, and we will have a closer look at a few key KPIs: efficiency, pressure loss and leakage.

Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are variables or measures by which the performance of organizations, machines and/or processes can be measured and analysed in a targeted manner. For example, a KPI can be a certain production number per time unit, but also the amount of profit a company makes on a specific product.

A KPI dashboard is like a simplified cockpit for a pilot of an airplane. It provides the right information on time, on which you can rely when making decisions. For example: if overall system efficiency is off, you can take a closer look into the settings of your master controller. If consumption is significantly higher than normal or you see a pressure event, you need to look at your production lines or talk to operators in the plant. If dew point is off, fix/service the dryer or check if it is properly sized. For each issue there are many solutions and the KPIs will tell you soon if the implemented solution was right. Even more, KPIs can be used to calculate ROI on a future investment. In this way they will help to predict your future compressed air related energy costs.

For compressed air systems, some important KPIs are:

  • Efficiency
  • Dew Point
  • Leakage rate
  • Pressure loss
  • Cost per product/part produced

Specific power (efficiency), leakage rate and pressure loss are a good starting point for any compressed air system, so this article will zoom in further on these three KPIs: What influences them, how you can measure them, and how to interpret them.

 

KPI: Specific Compressor Power/Efficiency

The specific power of an air compressor is the ratio between compressor output (the amount of compressed air produced) and power consumption of the compressor. So, the KPI is calculated by input power divided by output flow, expressed in kW/100 cfm or kW/m3/min.

Specific power is important in the following situations:

  • Asset management: when efficiency starts to deviate from initial situation, this can be seen as an early warning sign (e.g., need for a filter change on a centrifugal machine or internal fooling of heat exchangers).
  • Air over the fence: In these contracts, efficiency is an important part of the deal. The compressor needs to deliver a pre-determined X amount of air for a Y amount of electric power.
  • Compliance: Permanent monitoring is becoming increasingly important worldwide to achieve environmental and CO2 reduction targets. In this context governments also play a crucial role with legislation such as Title 24 in California and the Energy Efficiency Directive in Europe.
  • Acceptance testing: when testing a compressor in a lab (ISO1217).
  • Control system optimization: The efficiency a given set of compressors controlled by a master controller, should match industry benchmark average.

 

Total Compressor Station Efficiency vs. Individual Machines

When the budget for instrumentation is limited, you can use one flow meter to monitor all compressors. This involves measuring the power consumption per compressor and measuring the flow on the main pipeline, i.e., after the dryers and the buffer tank. The advantage of placing the flow meter on the main line is that the actual compressed air consumption of the plant is also monitored. This information can be used to determine leakage and to create a “fingerprint” of the air demand using a histogram function.

In this scenario, it is important to calculate the average consumption over sufficient time, and divide this by the average power consumption, as loading/ unloading will cause fluctuations in the KPI. Modern energy management platforms can refine this further, by splitting up “load” power consumption, “unload” power consumption and dividing this by the flow in a proper way. We recommend plotting efficiency as a function of air demand, to see if your system is running optimally.

To get a more granular insight needed to optimize compressor controls, flow should be measured per compressor. Pay special attention to flow meter selection and installation due to the harsh conditions in the discharge pipe of the compressor.

Depending upon goals, one can monitor the efficiency of the entire air compressor room, including air treatment equipment, or the efficiency of each individual compressor. 

Total measurement uncertainty. Propagation of errors. Boring subject?

Total measurement uncertainty. Propagation of errors. For many of us these are subjects we leave to mathematicians. However, they are of extreme importance when looking at measurement data. Particularly when it comes to the large investment decisions for air compressors, this topic should not be underestimated, and great care must be taken when comparing efficiency numbers.

Therefore, when monitoring efficiency, it is important to determine which accuracy level is acceptable. The required accuracy level depends on the application and on the size of the installation. The schematic below shows a (simplified) relational map between all parameters that are involved, just to get an idea about the complexity of efficiency measurement in volumetric (i.e., piston, screw, scroll) compressors. In the ISO1217 directive, one can read more on this topic and find other directives which tell you how to interpret results, confidence intervals, which type of flow meters must be used, and so on.

The total measurement uncertainty of any measurement is defined as the statistical variation of a measured quantity. For further reading on this matter, we refer to the “GUM” (Evaluation of measurement data – guide to the expresion of uncertainty in measurement, 2008).

Figure 1. Relational flow diagram showing how the efficiency of a volumetric compressor should be measured. The diagram shows all parameters which are involved and how they influence the measured efficiency.

Systematic Errors and How They Propagate

Each measured signal has its own uncertainty. Now what is the effect of a systematic error on the measured efficiency? Let us look at a simple example. We want to check the efficiency of a 44 kW machine, running full load. We used a power meter (± 1% reading), and a flow meter (± 5% reading). What is the maximum error of the efficiency?

 

Max. reading

Nominal reading

Min. reading

Unit
Flow

262.5

250

237.5

SCFM
Power

43.6

44

44.4

kW
Efficiency

16.6

17.6

18.7

kW/100SCFM
Error

-6%

6%

As the table shows, taking systematic errors to the extremes, the observed efficiency can be 16.6, 17.6, or 18.7 kW/ 100 SCFM. This is +/- 6%. Now suppose the compressor manufacturer tested the 250 CFM compressor, the allowable deviation of efficiency is also 6% (See CAGI sheet). Worst case, you could have purchased a compressor which has a -6% deviation on output flow. When measuring this with an insertion probe (+/-5%) you should be careful not to jump to the conclusion that the compressor is wrong, or the flow meter is right and vice versa.

What is the effect of a wrong efficiency number on the perceived annual costs? In this example, at a cost of $0.06/kWh and 8760 annual running hours, the “money tolerance” is +/- 1400 USD annually for this compressor. This may have an impact on your decision making: Any (major) decision based on less than +/- 1400 USD energy savings could be based on systematic errors, so it might be a “wrong” decision. If this were an altitude meter of an airplane, and you were the pilot flying that plane… what would you do when the altitude meter is +/- 140 feet accurate? You probably want to stay at 280 feet minimum (2 x the error). And this also applies to making decisions for this compressor; if the projected costs due to poor efficiency will exceed 2800 USD/year it is time to do something.

Keep reading about 3 other KPIs in the original article on Compressed Air Best Practice.

Get free presentation for you and your team on the benefits of permanent monitoring

webinar replay

Permanent monitoring of your compressed air and other utilities is key to maximizing energy savings. It comes with many benefits as the example above shows, including data-based investment decisions, alarms, increased awareness, and in some cases even an increase in production. Our team experts provide free-of-charge an online presentation to you and your team on the benefits of permanent monitoring. Interested? Make your appointment today!